Friday 27 November 2009

The new European Commission: Names and portfolios of Barroso II

In a press conference, Barroso just announced the names and portfolios of the new Commission.

Me and some others have tweeted from the press conference under the hashtag #barroso2, so if you want to re-read our comments and live quotes from Barroso you just need to click on the link

And here is the full list I took from the Commission press release:
  • Joaquín ALMUNIA: Competition. Vice-President of the Commission.
  • László ANDOR: Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion.
  • Baroness Catherine ASHTON: High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security and Vice-President of the Commission.
  • Michel BARNIER: Internal Market and Services.
  • Dacian CIOLOS: Agriculture and Rural Development.
  • John DALLI: Health and Consumer Policy.
  • Maria DAMANAKI: Maritime Affairs and Fisheries.
  • Karel DE GUCHT: Trade.
  • Štefan FÜLE: Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy. *
  • Johannes HAHN: Regional Policy.
  • Connie HEDEGAARD: Climate Action.
  • Maire GEOGHEGAN-QUINN: Research and Innovation.
  • Rumiana JELEVA: International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response. *
  • Siim KALLAS: Transport. Vice-President of the Commission.
  • Neelie KROES: Digital Agenda. Vice-President of the Commission.
  • Janusz LEWANDOWSKI: Budget and Financial Programming.
  • Cecilia MALMSTRÖM: Home Affairs.
  • Günter OETTINGER: Energy.
  • Andris PIEBALGS: Development.*
  • Janez POTOČNIK: Environment.
  • Viviane REDING: Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship. Vice-President of the Commission.
  • Olli REHN: Economic and Monetary Affairs.
  • Maro ŠEFČOVIČ: Vice-President of the Commission for Inter-Institutional Relations and Administration.
  • Algirdas ŠEMETA: Taxation and Customs Union, Audit and Anti-Fraud.
  • Antonio TAJANI: Industry and Entrepreneurship. Vice-President of the Commission.
  • Androulla VASSILIOU: Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth.
I will try to follow up on the names and the policy areas as soon as possible but don't have the time now.

In any case, Barroso is confident all Commissioners will be accepted by the European Parliament - and it is now our work and the work of the EP to show who is not qualified for their portfolio, who has conflicts of interest and who has shown in the past that there should be doubts on whether s/he is the right person to be a European Commissioner for five years.


Mathias Schwartz Kirkegaard said...

Connie Hedegaard is very competent and ambitious.

She is Minister of Climate in Denmark and is arranging the COP15.

No problem there.